Well, got back from tonight's hockey game, and it was a fun time. Our last late game, started at 2200. We had a surprisingly good turnout, with three lines, four defensemen, and two centers. Contrast this with our previous 2200 start times, where we had six or seven total players and ran it like rat hockey, and it becomes apparent how awesome having twelve guys was. The ice was way better than usual, with the rink having been cut down significantly to the point where we could actually see the lines on the ice. Previously, it was questionable whether there were lines under all that ice in the first place. They're still going to be repainting the ice before long here. This weekend I'm told. It appears that they shaved it down, which is amazing considering how terrible the Zambonis at our rink are. It was cut down to where I remember it being back in August when I bought my skates, though the paint under the ice was definitely worse for wear.
Enter the first period. Us in our grey jerseys, them in their St. Louis Blues bases with their bulldog logo on the front plus one guy in a Flyers jersey and another in a green jersey with some unknown logo. Went out for my first shift playing third line left winger, and immediately got rammed by the guy in the Flyers jersey. No big deal, even though we're a no-checking league, so I get back up and we continue. I get back to the bench and someone asks if it was a little rough out there, and I tell him that the guy in the Flyers jersey seems to want to be Eric Lindros, including the concussions. So we continue for a while longer, and our captain has a rebound bounce off his skate into the goal. Paste the other time being a bunch of whiny little girls here, insisting that he "kicked" the puck into the goal. Anyone who knows the rules of hockey knows that's a crock, and the zebras counted the goal. 1-0 us. A couple minutes later, they tie it up with a junk shot past our usually awesome goalie. No penalties in the first.
Second period gets us up 2-1, and each team gets their only two penalties of the game. Hooking for them, roughing for us. Our gameplay turns into a cluster, and nobody really accomplishes anything in the second. One of our player departs, having taken some personal time off work to come play but not enough time to stay the whole game. The dull blades on one of our centers' skates are obvious, but he's doing a surprisingly good job of making do. He knew they were bad when he got there, but had no time or means to get them sharpened beforehand.
Start the third period. They tie it up with a junk shot 8 seconds into the period, and then less than five minutes later they're leading 4-2 with two goals in 19 seconds during the fourth minute. Our team gets fired up, and a few minutes later we make it 4-3, and another 45 seconds later we're tied 4-4. Enter my line a few minutes later, and after a couple very short plays ending in more faceoffs, we get the puck in the zone. I remember what I've been meaning to try out, and I start screening the goalie. Boy did that make their goalie and one of their defensemen mad. After less than a minute of screening him, we're leading 6-4. We change lines, and after a bit, it's 6-on-5 with the opponents having pulled their goalie for a faceoff on our side of the ice. Ten seconds later, it's 6-5, and eighteen seconds after that, we've won!
Two game streak in a league we've only just entered this season after having previously been in the champions in the league below the one we're in now. It was a rocky start to the season, but we've really grown into this level of play. Now that I've discovered how effective this "screening" stuff is, I really need to do it more.
26 March 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comment:
Yeah, you should most definitely continue screening. You're really good at it. <3
Hmm... maybe you should bring your hand sharpener thing to the bench with you for situations like that, or something. Well... that is unless it's too small and would get lost.
Post a Comment